A Day in the Life of Me and Mine

Wife. Mom. Ambitious Crafter and Cook.

Turkey Taco Pasta September 27, 2012

Filed under: Food,What I Made Today — cmcoker1 @ 5:00 pm

As I was preparing for dinner last night, I realized I was down to a package of ground turkey and 2 chicken breasts.  I was really hoping that I’d open the freezer and find a frozen pizza, but, alas, these were my options.   After a rousing round of “Eeny, Meeny, Miney, Mo,” I chose the turkey.  Here’s what I came up with!

Turkey Taco Pasta

Ingredients:

8oz small shell pasta

1lb ground turkey, or ground beef

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 onion, diced

1/2 jalapeno, seeded and diced (optional)

2Tbsp taco seasoning

1 can Rotel

3oz cream cheese

2Tbsp sour cream

1/2 cup shredded cheddar or Mexican blend cheese

fresh cilantro (optional)

Method:

Prepare pasta according to package directions.  Drain, but reserve about 1/4 cup of the pasta water.  Brown ground turkey in skillet over medium heat.  Add in onion and jalapeno and season with salt and pepper.  Cook until turkey is no longer pink and onion and pepper are tender.  Sprinkle with taco seasoning and let simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Drain meat mixture.  Stir in Rotel, undrained.  Add in cream cheese, and sour cream and cook on low heat, uncovered, until all ingredients are combined.  Stir in pasta and shredded cheese.  If desired, top with fresh cilantro.

*This dish is pretty spicy.  A few ways to tone down the spice: use MILD Rotel and do not add the jalapenos.  But, I’ve been told that some like it hot…

Enjoy!

-care

 

One Response to “Turkey Taco Pasta”

  1. My mom always makes pasta shells with ground beef and I’ve recently converted her to turkey! We just don’t ever tackle the dairy and stick to red sauce with mushrooms.


Leave a Reply

