A Day in the Life of Me and Mine

Wife. Mom. Ambitious Crafter and Cook.

Chipotle’s Cilantro-Lime Rice September 14, 2012

Filed under: Food,What I Made Today — cmcoker1 @ 1:52 pm

I had planned to make chicken fajitas for dinner last night, and I was wanting a side to go with it.  I had one lime and a bunch of cilantro left over from Little Mister’s  bday party, so I searched through my Pinterest food board and came across a recipe for “Copycat Chipotle Rice.”  Do I have any Chipotle lovers out there?!  Whether you favor Moe’s or Q’doba (Yuck and Yuck), we all have to agree that Chipotle’s cilantro rice is THE BEST.  Hands down.

The recipe came from an Indian chef’s blog, US Masala.  I changed a few things based on what I had in my fridge and pantry…but it turned out great!

Chipotle’s Cilantro-Lime Rice

ingredients:

1 cup white or Basmati rice, uncooked

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp green chiles or jalapenos, finely chopped

1/2 cup chopped, fresh Cilantro leaves

salt, to taste

juice of a half of lime, about 2 Tbsp

1 tsp lime zest (or just whatever you can get from 1 lime)

1/4  tsp white sugar

method:

Cook rice according to package directions.  Set aside to cool.  In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium heat.  Add in chiles/jalapeno, and saute for about 1 minute.  Add in rice, cilantro, and salt.  Stir and allow to cook for 2 minutes.  Add in lime juice, lime zest, and sugar.  Stir until combined.  Serve as a side or as an addition to fajitas or burritos.

Enjoy!

-care

 

Leave a comment