A Day in the Life of Me and Mine

Wife. Mom. Ambitious Crafter and Cook.

What I Made Today: Homemade Cheese-its August 24, 2012

Filed under: Food,What I Made Today — cmcoker1 @ 11:45 am

I have a very unhealthy relationship with Cheez-its.  I could eat them all day, every day.  So when I found this recipe for Homemade Cheez-its on Pinterest, I just HAD to make them.

Homemade Cheez-its (adapted from Robin at “A Chow Life”)

Ingredients:

8oz sharp cheddar cheese, coarsely shredded

4Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4tsp salt

1cup all-purpose flour

2Tbsp ice water

Method:

Start by placing cheese, butter, and salt in the bowl of your stand mixer.  With the paddle attachment, mix until thoroughly combined.

image

Add flour and mix on low until combined.  The mixture should resemble the consistency of sand.

image

Slowly add ice water until a soft dough ball is formed.  *If your dough is not coming together, add more water in TINY increments until the dough forms a ball.*

image

Form your dough into a disc, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour.  This step chills the dough so that it is more manageable for our next step.   Use this time to tidy up the kitchen, take a shower, or eat the rest of your block of cheese…

image

After an hour, preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  Remove dough from fridge and divide into 2 equal parts.  On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough until 1/8″ thick.  Using a sharp knife, pastry cutter, or pizza cutter, cut your dough into 1″x1″ squares.  Poke a hole in the center of each square with a skewer or toothpick.  Transfer your cute little squares to the lined baking sheets, putting a little space between them.

image

Bake 1 batch at a time for 13-15 minutes.  Due to the high fat content of the cheese and butter, the bottoms can burn quickly.  I would suggest looking at the crackers after 10  minutes to make sure this doesn’t happen.  If you are worried, err on the side of being under-cooked!

image

Remove from oven and place directly onto a cooling rack.  If desired, sprinkle with a little salt while still warm.  Go ahead and try one…I know you want to!

image

Pretty good, right??  I love the smoky flavor of baked cheese. Yum.  If you have any left, store in an airtight container.

image

These cost me about $2 to make, and I actually prefer them over the ones in the red box.  I know…blasphemy.  But they have a softer texture and are just delish!  Believe me, I am a woman of convenience, but it’s fun to make things at home to see just what you are capable of.

Enjoy!

-care

 

2 Responses to “What I Made Today: Homemade Cheese-its”

  1. Cori Says:

    Oh my! I am definitely going to have to try these!

  2. Cori Says:

    These things are amazing! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

