A Day in the Life of Me and Mine

Wife. Mom. Ambitious Crafter and Cook.

Crock-Pot BBQ Chicken for 2 July 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — cmcoker1 @ 1:04 pm

Does the need to cook dinner before your husband gets home hang over your head all day like it does mine?!  This morning, I knew one thing: I had boneless, skinless chicken thawed in the fridge.  I feel like that is the case every morning. Chicken. Blah.  But the only thing I could think of that would make my day better is to cook that blah chicken in a crock pot.  That way, I could make it while Little Mister was napping.  Maybe I’ll go to the spa with all the extra time I have just made for myself…ha.

So, here’s what I am Making Today: Crock-pot BBQ Chicken for 2.  I browsed a few recipes, and then decided to do what I usually do: Make it up as I go:)

First, I trimmed the excess ick off of each chicken breast.  Then, I laid the 2 breasts in the bottom of my Crock-Pot, seasoning each lightly with salt and pepper.

I then gathered my sauce ingredients: BBQ sauce, olive oil, white vinegar, brown sugar, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and cumin.

I whisked them all together in a bowl.

And poured the sauce over the chicken.

Make sure you use all the sauce and cover both chicken breasts completely.

Put the lid on and cook on LOW for 4-6 hours.  I plan to check mine at 4 hours and add extra time as I see fit.

*I ended up switching to HIGH after 4 hours and cooking for an extra hour.*

And here is the final product!  The chicken was very moist and tender.  It literally cut when I touched it with my fork.  I finished off the meal with roasted red potatoes, green peas, and garlic cheddar biscuits.  Yum.  (The picture would have been better if the power wouldn’t have gone out right when I was putting the food on the table.  Thankful I had already cooked!)

Crock-Pot BBQ Chicken for 2
(*This recipe can easily be doubled or tripled*)

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts – thawed and trimmed

salt

pepper

sauce:

1c BBQ sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s because that’s what I had on hand 🙂

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/8 c white vinegar

1/8 c light brown sugar, packed

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp cumin (not necessary, but I love the smokey flavor)

Method:

Place chicken in crock-pot and season lightly with salt and pepper. Whisk together the 6 ingredients for the sauce until well-combined.  Pour over chicken until completely covered.  Cover crock-pot with lid and cook on LOW for 4-6 hours, or until chicken is no longer pink.

*In all actuality, you could make this even easier on yourself by just using BBQ sauce and forgetting all the other ingredients.  Play around with ingredients you like!  You really can’t mess this up!

-care

 

Leave a Reply

