A Day in the Life of Me and Mine

Wife. Mom. Ambitious Crafter and Cook.

What I Made Today July 12, 2012

Filed under: Food,What I Made Today — cmcoker1 @ 3:36 pm

For my first “What I Made Today” post, I failed to take pictures.  Sorry.  I will do better next time!

This morning, I had a craving for something sweet, full of carbs, and cinnamon-y.  I pulled up my Pinterest food board to see if I had pinned anything interesting. Lo, and behold, there it was: a Cinnamon Donut Muffin.  I was so excited.

If you know me, you know I have a very unhealthy love relationship with donuts.  I think it has a lot to do with the fact that Krispy Kreme was a frequent stop for my family.  When we were near the store, dad would tell us that he would stop if the red light was flashing.  But only if it was flashing.  Most days, that “Hot and Ready” light would indeed be flashing, and it would only be minutes before mom our family would have downed 2 dozen of those little suckers.  On the awful day that the red light was not flashing, my dad would pull the van into the parking lot, where we would sit until the light turned on:)

So, needless to say, when I saw a muffin that assured me it would taste like a donut, I quickly preheated the oven.  This recipe really is fantastic, but I wouldn’t say it has that distinct deep-fried donut quality.  But it was fluffy and moist and had the perfect amount of cinnamon to satisfy my craving. I thoroughly enjoyed it as a cinnamon muffin.  The texture is so light, and she even replaces most of the usual oil with applesauce.  Come on.  Healthy, right?!  That’s why I ate 4!  Like they say, “An apple a day…!”

Courtesy of the Girl Who Bakes, I give you the recipe for the Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins. Check them out and make them today.

Image

– care

 

One Response to “What I Made Today”

  1. Dad Says:

    I will look forward to reading your blog!


Leave a Reply

